taking learning personally

The intent of this blog is to provide a format for various members of the Elgin Academy community to showcase our unique learning environment. We hope you enjoy these stories.

An Elgin Academy Tribute to Jane Schock

Featuring a Tribute to Jane Schock (1955 - 2018)

On Thursday afternoon, May 17th, our school community gathered on the campus lawn to celebrate the life of Jane Schock and dedicate a special garden in her memory. Mrs. Schock, who preferred to be called Jane by all at EA, passed away in February after a short illness. In addition to the valuable contribution she made for 23 years as a member of our maintenance team, Jane was our "gardener-in-chief." Because she so lovingly tended the beautiful flowers that grace our campus in the spring and summer months, the EA community agreed that a garden was a most appropriate way to honor Jane.

The brief memorial that included a song from our Middle and Upper School choirs and student, parent and faculty remembrances took place under sunny skies in front of a small garden at the intersection of three pathways that connect our Lower, Middle, and Upper School buildings. Seth Hanford, Head of School, commented in his remarks at the ceremony that the location of the garden in the middle of campus was fitting as Jane was always in the middle of school activities--setting up for events, arranging tables and chairs, and ushering our young students in the car line. He also reminded students that Jane was their biggest fan. She delighted in their academic, co-curricular, and athletic accomplishments and would often seek them out to offer her praise.

Special to the event was an original poem penned by retired Upper School teacher, Stephanie Merrill. Jane cared for Ms. Merrill's classroom plants when school was not in session, and the two often chatted about their favorite books and authors. Jane's love for reading spilled over into the kindergarten classroom too, as she always made a point to drop by the class every year and read a Dr. Seuss book to the young students. A photo of Jane with a group of kindergarteners was unveiled at the ceremony. The picture, signifying Jane's special bond with all our students, will hang in our Media Center.

You can watch the ceremony here.

Past Blog Posts

Elgin Academy Pops Ensemble Plays "TV & Tunes"

featuring Rebecca Rome, EA Band Director with Music Education Services

Students in the Elgin Academy Band have the opportunity to take part in a Pops Ensemble, comprised of band students from Elgin area schools. The Pops Ensemble is a special band offered by Music Education Services. The group is conducted by EA band teacher, Rebecca Rome. On Monday, May 14, 2018 the Pops Ensemble performed at EA and also traveled to other area schools to showcase band students and recruit new members.

Read more about Elgin Academy Pops Ensemble Plays "TV & Tunes"
Elgin Academy Students Win Essay Contest:  Why Our Veterans Are America's Heroes

Featuring Essays by Hisham Shirazi and Kyle Saurer

Congratulations to our Middle School winners in the Elgin Elks Lodge #3737 Americanism Essay Contest. The contest was for 5th through 8th-graders across the country.

Seventh-graders Hisham Shirazi and Kyle Saurer won 1st and 2nd place respectively, responding to the prompt Why Our Veterans Are America's Heroes. Kyle's essay also placed 2nd for the North District Elks Association.

Elgin Elks Lodge #3737 will honor Hisham and Kyle at a dinner banquet on May 1st where they will receive certificates. Additionally, Hisham will receive a prize of $50.00.

Read more about Elgin Academy Students Win Essay Contest: Why Our Veterans Are America's Heroes